I'm getting the new Ford Ranger to test for 3 weeks!

Submitted: Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 12:01
ThreadID: 88297 Views:3861 Replies:19 FollowUps:31

I have been a long time viewer and sometime responder on this forum but just became a member....for selfish reasons! I know I should have before now BUT I was lazy...and needed a motivator.

Well that motivation is that I wanted to share my good fortune and hopefully unashamedly ask for everyones vote to win a new Ford Ranger. I spoke to the moderators and they suggested to join and post a blog which I have done. If you want further info just look in my Blog.

Ford are delivering the latest and greatest (apparently) Ranger to me in FNQ to test for 3 weeks. If any of you have questions, want photos or want specs please let me know and I'll happily share. Either post your questions here or in the blog and I'll respond as soon as I can.

Cheers, Terry

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 12:38

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 12:38
And whats the point of this post?
AnswerID: 461886

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 12:50

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 12:50
A friend ran into a group of Ford engineers on the Bluff in the Victorian high country out testing the new rangers. So they really are trying to test it in all the different environments in Australia.
I wonder if they will take some down the CSR like MB tried with the Gwagons. ?

AnswerID: 461888

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 13:51

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 13:51
I think Ford are taking an even bigger risk....giving them to the 5 members public to test as they see fit. There have been no rules other than staying within the wading depth (800mm), We aren't allowed to modify the cars in any way...no bullbar, no tyre upgrades so I expect plenty of flat tyres and a busted bumper to start with. They are fitting towbars which is lucky as I'll be towing a boat almost everywhere and an Aussie Swag camper on weekends!
FollowupID: 735609

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:27

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:27
Hmmmm, your enthusiasm appears to exceed that of the forum. Is this thing a real
Ford, or another rebadged Mazda?. If a Ford, I would have changed the name to close
the old association. Give it heaps, I say, & with a tray load somewhere near its max
legal load. I'm sick of reading reviews where the truck is tested for half an hour off the tar, carrying a swag & a sixpack of bottled water. I know your opinion wont be
compromised by getting a free truck for 3 weeks, & I will follow your review keenly.
cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 461899

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:46

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:46
I agree. Oh well I'm excited anyway. Apparently it has been designed by Aussies and the Mazda is the clone with different skin...the mazda looks weird at the front and back, however the one at the motorshow was awesome with bar work, muddies etc.

I will give it heaps as the final video produced is voted on by the public and I don't think someone pussy footing around is going to get anybody interested!

Thanks for your support.
FollowupID: 735620

Reply By: mackayboy - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:35

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:35
Hi Terry
I'm really keen to find out how much leg room is available for back seat passengers??? Ford claim to have done alot of design in this area but I want you to see for me just how roomy it is. Thanks Mackayboy
AnswerID: 461900

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:48

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 15:48
I will get measurements next week. I sat in it at the motorshow and it was comparable to my 120 prado.
FollowupID: 735621

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 09:01

Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 09:01
Hey Mackayboy

I am doing some measurements today with it parked side by side with my 120 Prado.Check out the blog for more details later. If you have specifics just let me know.
FollowupID: 736343

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 09:06

Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 09:06
FollowupID: 736347

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 16:38

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 16:38
This sounds like an ad
AnswerID: 461904

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 16:48

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 16:48
No it does not sound like an ad, and I for one think Terry putting this up here will give us all a good in site to what the Ranger is like. I for one have it short listed for a new vehicle and this is going to help me no end.
FollowupID: 735628

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:48

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:48
I'm with Isuzumu on this one ! I'm in the market for a new vehicle and any REAL opinions from REAL people will be more influential than what a dealer tells me !

Happy Travelling

Gazz
FollowupID: 735639

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:04

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:04
Isn't that an ad?
AnswerID: 461907

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:21

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:21
Sorry mate. Look I am not wanting to offend anybody and if you think my post is I'll happily remove it.

Terry
FollowupID: 735629

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:25

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:25
Nah keep goin

AnswerID: 461908

Reply By: wicket - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:42

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:42
if you win do you get to keep the one you tested if so you might be a bit soft with it, if not take it up the canning where those mercs just fell apart.
AnswerID: 461909

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:50

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 17:50
Nah I checked!!! Get a brand spanker fortunately so the gloves are off.
FollowupID: 735632

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:19

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:19
tdv -
just give an honest report at the end - eg the good, the bad and the in between, as there are a lot of people waiting to see what this new vehicle will be like ! From all the research I have done, the new Ranger is looking pretty good, so it will be fantastic to get some feedback from Joe Citizen - aka tdv !

Give it heaps - and then a bit more !!

Gazz
AnswerID: 461912

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:44

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:44
Will do... I guess long term reliability is the one I can't test.
FollowupID: 735638

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 09:02

Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 09:02
Started my assessment in the blog yesterday.
FollowupID: 736344

Reply By: rocco2010 - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:49

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:49
Gidday tdv

I have been pretty happy with my Ranger so i will be watching with interest for your report on the new one.

I have just come back from a trip on the Anne Beadell, Connie Sue and Gunbarrel highways and believe or not that annoying little buzz in the dash has GONE! Must have shaken out the bug on the corros.

Rocco
AnswerID: 461916

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:59

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 18:59
Hey Rocco

I've had an annoying buzz in my cabin for just over 20 years - both my Patrols and in my current Rodeo ! I've driven corro's for months, graded dirt for years, sand like you would't believe and at least 3 million k's of black top ! Doesn't matter what I do or where I am that annoying buzz always says "haven't you already had enough to drink ?"

Any tips ?

Gazz
FollowupID: 735641

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 19:38

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 19:38
Hey gazz

used to get some noise from the around the passenger seat but that went away a few years ago ...

FollowupID: 735648

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 19:43

Friday, Aug 05, 2011 at 19:43
Hey Gaz

Funny thing, Ive got the same buz telling me exactly the same thing. Had it for 33 years.
My wife tells me I can get rid of it but it will be VERY VERY expensive

Oh well back to the ear plugs LOL

Cheers Teza

FollowupID: 735649

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 08:05

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 08:05
I had a buzz I couldn't find and it turned out to be the toll tag stuck on the window behind the rear vision mirror. It sounded like it was coming from the dash so I was looking in the wrong place. Mike
FollowupID: 735667

Reply By: ss--ss - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 08:26

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 08:26
G'day , not sure if it has a tow bar & if you have the diesel but would be interested how it tows on the open road, eg fuel consumption while driving 100klm & weight of trailer/caravan? . Also if a second battery fits under the bonnet ?
AnswerID: 461946

Follow Up By: ss--ss - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 08:29

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 08:29
Actual I see above you will get a tow bar & will be towing.. I'm interested in reading what you have to say about that..
FollowupID: 735668

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 15:59

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 15:59
I checked it out at the motorshow for the second battery and unfortunately in the current configuration a second battery won't fit. However it appear that with some re-mounting (similar to 100 series V8) of power steering it may fit. Guess we'll have to see what the aftermarket guys come up with.

As for towing I will be and fuel consumption monitored closely. I don't even know what size tank it has yet.

Terry
FollowupID: 735702

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:20

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:20
Ok I'm Back!!!! It has just been hosed, washed, vacuumed and now has the doors open to dry out the carpet...river was a bit deeper than expected when I opened the door

Bitumen towing with back loaded (300kg?) and boat (1.2t) is effortless with fuel consumption average of 12.7l/100km including heaps of hills. Speed was usually somewhere between 100 and 110km/hr. It holds 6th gear easily on most hills with revs at around 1700rpm for 100km/hr.

Dirt towing was great though plenty of interference from traction control due to wheel spin! Of course putting it into 4x4 helped.

Real off-road was brilliant. Crossed an 80m wide soft sandy water section in a 500m wide river bed with ease. Nobody had crossed for 2 years and the track we went on hasn't seen any maintenance from the station in over 12 years. Lots of washouts, long grass, steep drops without too many problems. I'll admit I got stuck a couple of times but I was pushing my luck. Managed to get out though. I bellied it and got hung up on the towbar.

The video crew had a great time and reckon they got some great footage. Hope so as it will become the video everyone votes on. I felt a bit foolish talking to the camera at times...

I've answered some questions here and will try to get to them all during the week. I didn't get any pictures myself as I always had to drive the car. The crew promised to email theirs through so it might be a week or so before I can post some of the trip.

I'll keep providing any info I can while I still have the car.

Terry
FollowupID: 736304

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:21

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:21
Whoops that was for the blog...anyway iot has info about towing etc...don't know how to move or delete. Sorry.
FollowupID: 736305

Reply By: wicket - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 09:57

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 09:57
am hoping someone will make a ute with a decent payload, do you know the specs for this new one?
AnswerID: 461949

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:04

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:04
Max roof capacity is 75 kilograms
Load carrying page is blank (mmm what is doing there...)
Max towing 3350kg braked and max 335 kg on ball.
Same specs for 2.2 and 3.2 engines and manual or auto.

Weird about the payload page being blank? Maybe some secret squirrel stuff going on?

Terry
FollowupID: 735703

Reply By: Bigfish - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:50

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:50
Good luck with the car and yes...be totally honest in your appraisal.
IF the motor companies were really fair dinkum, they would select half a dozen remote aboriginal communities and tell em to take the car, treat it like their own and see how it fairs. Community people tend to be able to go further and into areas most of us would shudder at. They arent interested, generally, in shiny chrome or paint. Just going from a to b. They are very hard on vehicles and anyone who has spent time in a community will attest to this. Any vehicle that can take their punishment is a solid one and would serve the public well.
AnswerID: 461960

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 14:35

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 14:35
I'm sorry, but why would a car company design a car to satisfy approx 0.1% of the population???

Unless it's for marketing purposes that is.

Yes community people would thoroughly test a vehicle to its limits but the majority of car owners wouldn't. More people buy Landcruiser 200's not 76's for comfort not to abuse it to an inch of its life. Besides a 200 will still take people to 99% of the places they would ever want to go.

FollowupID: 736465

Reply By: Member - tdv - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:19

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 16:19
Made it into the CarsGuide of the local rag (Cairns Post) today. They want to come and get some photos etc when I pick it up. Should be fun!
AnswerID: 461972

Reply By: Member - tdv - Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 17:37

Tuesday, Aug 09, 2011 at 17:37
Got my Ranger an hour ago! Have driven it 25km home. See my Blog on the Ranger for more details in a few hours and hopefully a few pics.

AnswerID: 462187

Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 18:57

Thursday, Aug 11, 2011 at 18:57
Very quite on the Ranger front Terry? probably off to Cape York or some thing, maybe Ford has zipped his lips LOL
AnswerID: 462345

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:19

Saturday, Aug 13, 2011 at 16:19
Just got back....blog updated.
FollowupID: 736303

Reply By: Member - tdv - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 13:21

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 13:21
Image Could Not Be Foundhere are some pics

AnswerID: 462651

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 15:00

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 15:00
Good one Terry, one question what is it like in size, say compared to a Hi Lux?
FollowupID: 736468

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 16:06

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 16:06
I put some measurements in the Blog that compared with 120 Prado. I don't have a hilux to compare to at the moment. A good mate has one and we plan to get together soon to compare.

Also the offset is printed on the back of the rims apparently but I don't know what all the numbers mean.. Any hints?
FollowupID: 736475

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 16:23

Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 16:23
Off set works like this 0 hub is in the centre of the wheel, + off set means the there is more of the wheel inside of the vehicle. Most of the new vehicles have it this way. - neg has more of the wheel out side, big dish effect. It will say +35 which means 35 mm from the centre, I think that how it works hahahaha
FollowupID: 736481

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 08:45

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 08:45
Bruce

I haven't had a chance to pull a wheel off yet. Sorry mate. I have measured the distance between the outer rim and the centre on the inside. I put a board across the spare. Anyway it is 170mm. When I get a chance I'll remove a wheel (might be the weekend).

FollowupID: 736580

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 09:25

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 09:25
Hi Terry

I'm a bit jealous you won, I was sure I was going to win. LOL

It would be great to see some more pics of the car in real life and dirty situations.
All car company pics always seem to look so staged (which I guess they are) and often the car you finally see in the metal is not at all like what the pre publicity pics showed.

I do like the look of the Ranger from what I've seen so far.
So more pics when you can please.

AnswerID: 462775

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 09:43

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 09:43
Nothing has ever happened to me like this before. It is a bit of t a thrill getting to test a car before release! Where are you in FNQ? I'm more than happy for you to come and have a look! I'll be in Atherton this Saturday and Cairns next week if it helps.

I agree with the photos etc. When we were filming in the Gulf they had a guy there to clean the grill and bumper before certain shots. I kept saying....but it is dirty for a reason!

I plan on doing some tracks this weekend to get some better shots and hope to try and make a YouTube video (short) showing some of the features etc.

Will post the link in my Blog.

Voting starts in 2 weeks so I hope the video turned out. I also hope I get a few votes from the forumites!!!!
FollowupID: 736582

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 10:01

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 10:01
I'm at Mission Beach. I'd love to have look but unfortunately I'm flying back into Cairns on Saturday to go home so Atherton is out.

When are you in Cairns next week?

Mind you I'd love to see the Ranger on some of the seriously steep rainforest ex-logging tracks on our place, now there's a thought!!!!

FollowupID: 736583

Follow Up By: Member - tdv - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 10:25

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 10:25
I'm in Cairns next Tuesday for a meeting then dropping in on Trinity Ford to show the sales guys the car after 4pm. Anything to drum up some votes haha.

I plan on visiting my parents in Innisfail next week....maybe Wednesday during the day. Might be able to tee something up?

Cheers, Terry
FollowupID: 736585

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 10:40

Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011 at 10:40
Wednesday is looking good, have sent you a PM.

FollowupID: 736586

Reply By: Member - tdv - Sunday, Aug 21, 2011 at 11:08

Sunday, Aug 21, 2011 at 11:08
Have uploaded my first video to you tube...just a quick overview of the inside and outside. See here
AnswerID: 463146

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Aug 21, 2011 at 11:22

Sunday, Aug 21, 2011 at 11:22
Good video Terry, like the 12 volt plug in the cargo area. How have you found the build quality so far?
FollowupID: 736966